Film Reviews

Scene in San Francisco, post SFIFF screening of Gia Coppola’s PALO ALTO.

Indie Film
Clinton Stark
04.16.2014

‘Palo Alto’, the film, offers a (significantly) different perspective on life here in Silicon Valley, then, say, the HBO satire ‘Silicon Valley’.

untitled
Indie Film
BY | 02.26.14 VIDEO

Indeed this is war. What do you do when you’re sued for $30 million by your record label? If you’re Jared Leto, you rock!

In 'Odd Brodsky' Audrey (Tegan Ashton Cohan) turns her life into a reality show with help from Camera One (Matthew Kevin Anderson).
Indie Cinema
BY | 01.06.14

In some ways Odd Brodsky is like a Walter Mitty for women. Ben Stiller’s Icelandic adventure was also about overcoming one’s awkwardness to chase big dreams.

The Year and the Vineyard
Independent Film
BY | 10.10.13

Here’s a wine movie that eschews the literal, and embraces whimsical to tell a magical story of a mysterious man who falls from the sky into a vineyard.

CAPITAL - Costa-Gavras
World Cinema
BY | 10.09.13

Capital takes us into the boardroom, and reveals what life might be like as the CEO of a top European bank. You can judge. Or you can play along.

Along the Roadside plays Mill Valley Film Festival 36.
World Cinema
BY | 09.23.13

No doubt this is a quirky, character-driven study. It’s not the destination that matters, as they say, but the journey.

You Will Be My Son
In Film
BY | 09.17.13

A review of ‘You Will Be My Son’. How does the intergenerational drama compare to other wine films that came before it such as ‘Sideways’ and ‘Bottle Shock’?

Did anyone see that boy?
On Film
BY | 09.13.13

When I took a break from so-many re-watches of Mulholland Drive, and pulled up Friday the 13th, I was reminded at just how well the film has held up over the years.

That Guy WHo Was in That Thing
Film Review
BY | 09.13.13

You recognize their faces, but not their names. Here’s a documentary that reveals the ups and downs of being a working character actor in Hollywood.